June 25, 26, 27 2009

Edwardsville, Illinois
(St. Louis Metro Area)
Edwardsville High School
6161 Center Grove Road
Edwardsville, IL 62025

We want to extend to you this invitation to come and be a part of the 14th annual Single Wing Symposium. We have Pat Poore the O.C. from Northern Illinois (2008 Independence Bowl) as our keynote speaker along with our agenda of great coaches who have 1300 wins and 26 state championships that are willing to share their knowledge and love for the Single Wing & Shotgun offense. Plus we have Dan Johnson who will officially induct our first class of NSWCA Hall of Fame recipients. We hope to see you there.

8:30-10:00 Registration (EHS Commons)

10:00 Welcome - Mark Bliss / Dan Johnson

10:30 Lelin George - Conway Springs H.S. (KS); 2 State Titles
Topic: Cardinal Wing Variations

11:45 Lunch Break

1:00 Ken Leonard - Sacred Heart Griffin (IL); Illinois Class 6A State Champions; 4 State Titles / 200+ Wins
Topic: Multiple Spread / A-11 Offense

2:15 Kelsey Pickering - Edwardsville H.S. (IL); Defensive Coordinator
Topic: Blitzing System Made Simple

3:30 George Rykovich - Retired; 2 State Titles / 250+ Wins; Colorado Hall of Fame Coach
Topic: Favorite Plays from the Single Wing

4:45 Matt Martin - Edwardsville H.S. (IL); Special Teams Coordinator; 27 Blocked Kicks in 2 Seasons
Topic: Tiger Special Teams Blocks & Drills

Dinner Break

7:00-8:30 Edwardsville H.S. on Field Demonstration / Practice

9:00 War Room / Chalk Talk

9:00 Announcements

Youth Coach Keynote Speaker
9:30 Bob Collins - Park Hill Panthers (MO); 5 Missouri Pop Warner State Titles; 1 National Championship Tournament
Topic: Single Wing at the Youth Levels

Keynote Speaker
10:45 Pat Poore - Northern Illinois University; Offensive Coordinator; 2008 Independence Bowl Participant
Topic: NIU Spread Game vs. Any Coverage

12:00 Lunch Break

1:30 Chad Lakatos - Edwardsville H.S. (IL); Head Track Coach/ WRs Coach; 2 State Titles
Topic: Guaranteed Speed Improvement

2:45 Bob Howard - Webster City H.S. (IA) / Sigourney-Keota H.S. (IA); 3 State Titles / 200+ Wins
Topic: Howard Single Wing System

4:00 Rick Darlington - Apopka H.S. (FL); 1 State Title / 100+ Wins
Topic: Apopka Multiple Single Wing Offense

Dinner Break

7:00 Single Wing Highlights
“New & Vintage Cut Ups”
- Bring your highlight films & any old 20’s-70’s Single Wing / Shotgun Films9:00 War Room / Chalk Talk

9:00 Jim Ahern - Lansing Catholic H.S. (MI); Multiple Semifinal Appearances; 200+ Wins / Michigan Hall of Fame; Author of Single Wing Book / Films
Topic: Ahern Single Wing System

10:15 Mark Bliss - Edwardsville H.S. (IL); 4 State Titles / 100+ Wins
Topic: EHS Program/ No-Huddle Single Wing

11:15 Legends Session
George Rykovich
Ken Hofer - Menominee, MI; 3 State Titles / 200+ Wins
Ed Racely - Brewster, MA
Dan Johnson - Administrator

NSWCA Hall of Fame Inductions
Dan Johnson - MC
Ed Racely - National Historian
George Rykovich - Manitou Springs H.S. (CO)
John F. Aldrich - Northern Iowa Laboratory H.S.
Ed Buller - Clifton Clyde H.S. (KS)
Jerry Carlisle - Colorado College (CO)
Kenneth Keuffel - Lawrenceville  H.S. (NJ)
Keith Piper - Dennison University (OH)
Marv “The Bear” Wetzel - Trinidad Junior College (CO)
Norris Patterson - William Jewell College (MO)

For more information or questions please contact:
Dan Johnson: (618) 406-7322 [dsjohnson at ecusd7 dot org]
Mark Bliss: (816) 739-5010 [mbliss at ecusd7 dot org]